Foley High School was the site of the "Battle of the Falcons" Thursday night as the Foley Falcons took on the Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City Falcons.

Not only were both squads ranked third in the state in their respective classes, but the dual featured 14 state ranked individuals. ACGC won last year’s battle by just 2 points and many people expected it to be another exciting dual this time around.

Foley started off with a bang at 106 when Tyler Funk won by fall over Robert Rassmusen of ACGC. Foley followed suit when Tristan Manderfeld scored a pin at 113 and Tyler Jensen squeezed-out a 4-2 decision over ACGC’s Tyler Berghuis at 120. ACGC finally got rolling, at 126 pounds, when senior Hayden Rouser scored a technical fall.

The next three weight classes were dominated by ACGC who put up 18 straight points. Tyler Bemboom got Foley back on track with a 5-3 decision at 152 pounds and the match was tied at 18 points apiece. Defending state Champion Taylor Lewandowski got Foley’s lead back at 160 pounds, with a technical fall, and their upper weights took it home from there.

Foley won the dual by a final of 39-21.

“It was nice to get a little revenge,” said Foley Senior Tony Kipka, who scored a pin at 195 pounds. “We still have a lot of work to do this year,” he later said, “We haven’t peaked yet.”

Foley will be in action tonight at Hutchinson, while ACGC gets back in gear at a tournament this weekend.

Foley       ACGC__Wt._________________________________________________

6                      0              106- #7AA Tyler Funk (F) fall over #8A Robert Rassmusen (ACGC)

12                    0              112- #2AA Tristan Manderfeld (F) fall over Ethan Housman (ACGC)

15                    0              120- #6AA Tyler Jensen (F) 4-2 decision over #5A Tyler Berghuis (ACGC)

15                    5              126- #2A Hayden Rouser (ACGC) technical fall over Randy Jensen (F)

15                    9              132- #5A Logan Peterson (ACGC) 11-0 major decision over Carter Nielson (F)

15                    12            138- #3A Matt Meyer (ACGC) 4-3 decision over Chevy Goble (F)

15                    18            145- #1A Larry Bomstad (ACGC) fall over Brandon Halverson (F)

18                    18            152- #6AA Tyler Bemboom (F) 5-3 decision over Lee Whitcomb (ACGC)

23                    18            160- #1AA Taylor Lewandowski (F) technical fall over Mathew Whitcomb (ACGC)

26                    18            170- #5AA Nick Lefebvre (F) 5-3 decision over Maverick Whitcomb (ACGC)

26                    21            182- #2A James Nelson (ACGC) 6-2 decision over Tyler Midas (F)

32                    21            195- Tony Kipka (F) fall over Colin Kragenbring (ACGC)

36                    21            220- #4AA Sam Olson 13-2 major decision over T.J Hoffman (ACGC)

39                    21            HWT- Cameron Svihla 3-1 OT decision over Jordan Fester (ACGC)

Other Area Wrestling Finals from Thursday

Brainerd/Pillager over Rocori, 52-25
Sartell- St Stephan
over Alexandria, 46-21
over Rogers, 66-10